Nevadaworks Board

The Nevadaworks Board decides policy and sets the direction for workforce efforts throughout northern Nevada. The Board is comprised of the Nevadaworks Council and the Nevadaworks Local Elected Officials. Each group has its own by-laws and each group is independent of the other. When meeting together the two groups form the Nevadaworks Board and operate under Board by-laws.

Nevadaworks Council

The Council membership is comprised of at least two members each from economic development, labor, education and community based organizations. In addition, representatives of each of the eighteen Workforce Investment Act mandated partners are on the Council as well as members from the business community. Business members must be the majority of the total Council membership.

All Council members are appointed to terms of up to three years by the Local Elected Officials. Terms run from July 1 through June 30. Members may represent more than one category and may seek re-appointment when their current term expires.

Current Council:

Michelle Sanchez-Bickley – Chair – Renown Health
Cheri Hill – Chair Elect – Sage International, Inc.
Alan DarneyNorthern Nevada Electrical Apprenticeship
Chuck SweeneyChuck Sweeney Associates
Corrado DeGasperisComstock Mining, Inc.
David Meares–  AD Hawk, Inc.
Harry MowreyInternational Painters and Allied Trades, Local Union 567
Ken PiersonDepartment of Employment, Training and Rehabilitation
Kris WellsAT&T
Mark Huntley – Sierra Nevada Job Corps Center
Mark TulmanNevada Association of Employers
Dr. Kyle DalpeTruckee Meadows Community College
Jojo MyersNorthern Nevada Development Authority
Nancy McCormickEDAWN
Nancy Rutherford –  SOC Hawthorne  
Shirley ChantrillNevada Aging and Disability Services Division
Renee OlsonDepartment of Employment, Training and Rehabilitation
Steve OlsonElectratherm
Susan RobinsonNorthern Nevada Literacy Council
Theresa AuldHaws Corporation
Rod Young Operating Engineers Apprenticeship
Tony RamirezU.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development

Nevadaworks Local Elected Officials

The Nevadaworks Local Elected Officials are either elected to a county office or represent such an official. Their two year terms on the Nevadaworks Board are determined by their respective county commissions and run from January 1 in even numbered years through December 31 in odd numbered years.

Current Local Elected Officials:

Darin Bloyed – Chair – Pershing County Commissioner
Austin Osborne – Vice Chair – Storey County Commissioner Representative
Art ClarkLander County Commissioner
Bob HastingsLyon County Commissioner
Bus ScharmannChurchill County Commissioner
Cliff EklundElko County Commissioner
Clifford CichowlazMineral County Commissioner
Jeanne HermanWashoe County Commissioner
Jim FrenchHumboldt County Commissioner
Karen AbowdCarson City Supervisor Ward 1
Barry Penzel – Douglas County Commissioner Representative
Michael SharkozyEureka County Commissioner
Richard Howe – White Pine County Commissioner

Nevadaworks Youth Council

The goal of the Nevadaworks Youth Council is to ensure the broadest range of services available to northern Nevada youth while minimizing duplication. Nevadaworks has contracted with premier youth agencies to coordinate this function for the best interests of the communities involved.